Ohio Association for Elementary School Administrators announced that Riverview Elementary School is a winner of the 2008 OAESA Hall of Fame recognition award.

“We are all very proud of this recognition for the Riverview community,” said Superintendent Dr. Russell Jones. “This is a clear affirmation of the fine work that goes on in each classroom every day. Congratulations to Mrs. Harriss and the entire staff.”

“This is a wonderful validation of all of the tremendous daily efforts, talents and work of our students, staff, parents and community,” said Principal Brenda Harriss. “Working together for the good of our students makes Riverview a successful learning community.”

Riverview applied for the Hall of Fame award after being nominated by a confidential person(s). OAESA sends an application to the principal of a school that has been nominated. After the applications are received, the Hall of Fame committee reviews them to determine if the basic criteria have been met.

The Riverview staff submitted extensive written documentation substantiating the quality of their educational program in the following areas: Instructional System, Student Achievement, Student Development, Personnel, Administration, School Management and Community.

Seven finalists were selected from 53 nominations from across the state. The top two schools in each of the 10 regional zones that met or exceeded a 75 percent score received an on-site visitation by practicing principals from OAESA’s Hall of Fame Visitation committee. On April 14 the judging committee visited Riverview and met with the teachers, support staff, parents, principal and superintendent. Stow-Munroe Falls is in Zone 6 which consists of Summit, Medina, Portage and Lorain counties.

The Riverview staff was honored at the annual OAESA Professional Conference Awards Luncheon Oct. 28 in Columbus.

© 2022 Stow-Munroe Falls City Schools. All Rights Reserved